Licensing

Licensing in NJ: The Basics

The NJ Real Estate Commission issues licenses to Salespersons, Brokers, Instructors and real estate schools. The Commission also regulates the profession and establishes standards of practice.

All applicants for a license must meet educational requirements; prove US citizenship or legal basis for residency; pass a State examination; and possess good character. 

To Obtain a Salesperson’s License

1. Must be at least 18 years old 

2. Possess a high school diploma or equivalency 

3. Successfully complete a 75-hour pre-licensing course 

4. Pass a State licensing examination 

5. Demonstrate good character, integrity and honesty

6. Complete fingerprinting and background check and respond to the 8 Screening Questions (see below).

-Once applicants for a Salesperson’s license have met these requirements, they apply for a license through a sponsoring Broker.    

To Obtain a Broker’s License 

1. Must be licensed as a Salesperson and employed full-time in the profession for a minimum of three (3) years 

2. Successfully complete a 150-hour licensing course 

3. Pass a State licensing examination 

4. Demonstrate good character, integrity and honesty 

5. Complete fingerprinting and background check and respond to the 8 Screening Questions (see below).

-Disabled US Veterans may apply for a waiver of education and experience requirements for Broker licensing.

-Applicants have one year after successfully completing the State examination to apply for a license. 

-New Jersey does not have reciprocal licensing agreements with any other state. 

8 Screening Questions 

In addition to the successful completion of the pre-licensing course and passing the State licensing examination, candidates for any NJ Real Estate License must certify their answers to the following eight screening questions. If you are unsure how to answer, err on the side of truthful and full disclosure. You will be provided an opportunity to discuss your responses with the Real Estate Commission. You may call Commission for guidance: 609-292-7272 ext. 50546.

With the exception of motor vehicle, have you EVER been convicted of a crime, misdemeanor, or disorderly person offense in the state of New Jersey, any other state or by the Federal Government, or are you presently on probation or parole?   Is there a criminal complaint, disorderly person charge, a criminal accusation or criminal information presently pending against you or are you presently under indictment in New Jersey, any other state or by the Federal Government, or are you presently enrolled in New Jersey’s pre-trial intervention (PTI) program or any similar state or federal program involving the deferral of the disposition or sentencing in a criminal matter?   

Have you ever had a real estate or other professional license, certification or similar credential revoked, suspended, surrendered in lieu of formal prosecution, or denied in New Jersey or any other state?   

Do you have a child support obligation on which there is an arrearage due that equals or exceeds the amount of child support payable for six months or are you the subject of a child support related warrant?   

Are you under the age of 18 at the time of taking this examination?   

Do you now hold, or have you ever held, any license issued by the N.J. Real Estate Commission?   

Are you a high school graduate or the holder of a G.E.D.?   

Do you currently hold a real estate license issued by another state? 

For more information about licensing requirements, visit http://www.state.nj.us/dobi/division_rec/licensing/reclic_menu.htm  

For more information on responding to the Qualifying Questions, visit http://www.state.nj.us/dobi/division_rec/licensing/reclicexam.htm 

Subscribe

Talk to Us!

Waterfront School of Real Estate

110 Liberty View Dr. - 1G, Jersey City, New Jersey 07302, United States